little rituals

image

Last night, I couldn’t sleep. My body fought the process the whole way. By the time I realized sleep wasn’t coming, it was too late to take a sleeping pill.

I stumbled from bed this morning after an hour of half-awake dreaming. The first thing that greets me on exiting the bedroom is the little altar I’ve made for the house. Above it is a little Kuan Yin. She’s been in three differnt homes of mine, but this is the one where she has finally been given a steadfast position.

Going to the altar provides me with great comfort and centering. Every morning and every evening, I light candles and find a quiet spot in my mind. This tiny ritual allows me to take a moment. It reminds me to be grateful, to give thanks, to find compassion.

2 thoughts on “little rituals

Leave a Reply

